Skip Navigation

International Thespian Society Troupe 7164

"Act well your part, therein lies the honor." --Alexander Pope 


Lutheran High School is a member of the International Thespian Society. As such, we celebrate, recognize, and honor student achievement in theatre. The International Thespian Society (ITS), founded in 1929, is an honorary organization for more than 2.2 million high school members located at more than 4,900 affiliated secondary schools across America and abroad. The mission of ITS is to honor student achievement in the theatre arts. High school inductees are known as Thespians, after Thespis, the first actor of Ancient Greece. ITS is a division of the Educational Theatre Association (EdTA).More information about the International Thespian Society can be found at 

All students who participate in theatre are eligible for membership in the International Thespian Society. Membership is determined by earning points for participation in theatre productions, both on and off stage. Students are inducted and recognized yearly for their commitment to the art of theatre. The current number of LHS Thespians is 24. Rankings are determined by advanced participation each year. Recognition is also given for Thespians who also act well their part as Thespian Scholars. 

The Thespian Officers host the annual awards banquet and Thespian induction ceremony at the end of the season. Award recipients are selected by all who have participated in theatre that year. Awards given include: 

Minor Actor/Actress 
Supporting Actor/Actress 
Supporting Backstage 
Leading Actor/Actress (each show) 
Leading Backstage 
Newcomer Acting/Newcomer Backstage 
Most Valuable Player 
Director's Choice 
Thespian of the Year 

The Thespian of the Year award is given to a student who has shown exemplary participation and performance throughout the year but also their theatre career at LHS. 

Previous Thespian of the Year Award Recipients: 
2023: Paige Taylor
2022: Jackson Terry 
2021: Alec Hedges 
2020: Tori Adler 
2019: Zach Murphy 
2018: Ted Deitz 
2017: Samuel Brandt 
2016: Maci Godme 
2015: Sarah Johnson